Young Singers’ Competition

Our artistic strength is founded on our commitment to working at least partly with young artists: many singers who have appeared on the Bampton stage have gone on to enjoy successful national and international careers.

The biennial Bampton Classical Opera Young Singers' Competition, aimed at identifying the country's finest emerging young singers, was launched in 2013, our 20th birthday year.

The next competition will be held in 2019.


Competition 2017

The final round of the competition took place on 19 November at Oxford’s Holywell Music Room, with Bonaventura Bottone and Jean Rigby as adjudicators.

The first prize went to mezzo-soprano Emma Stannard, the second prize to tenor Wagner Moreira and the inaugural Accompanists' prize to Emma's pianist Keval Shah.

The panel chairman, Bonaventura Bottone, said: ‘We were looking for a well-chosen balanced programme where the singers engaged with the text creating the character and atmosphere of the pieces from the outset, sung within their vocal capabilities. Emma fulfilled this criteria in her prize-winning performance. The balance of her performance was superbly supported by Keval Shah, who underpinned Emma’s programme with effortless musical poise.’

Emma Stannard recently completed her studies at Royal Academy Opera. She has since performed in two Grange Festival productions, received training as a Britten-Pears Young Artist, and toured the Verdi Requiem with Merry Opera Company. She is supported by Help Musicians UK.

Wagner Moreira is a member of Royal Academy Opera, where he studies with Richard Berkeley-Steele and Iain Ledingham. Recent concerts include Mozart’s Requiem and Coronation Mass, Beethoven’s Mass in C and ninth symphony, Haydn’s Nelson Mass, Handel’s Messiah and Bach’s St John Passion.


Winner of the 2017 Oxford Lieder Young Artist Platform, Keval Shah performs extensively as a song accompanist. He studied at Trinity Hall, Cambridge and the Royal Academy of Music, graduating from both institutions with distinction, and is currently a Fellow at the Academy. Engagements in 2017/18 include debut recitals at the Wigmore Hall, St John’s Smith Square and the Heidelberger Frühling.

Previous winners

Galina Averina - first
Céline Forrest - second

Anna Starushkevych - first
Rosalind Coad - second